Patience is a virtue – the one with all the stamp collecting.

WTJ Stamps


“Collect the stamps off of all your mail”. Easy, this will be completed in no time at all…


Maybe its just me but I don’t get much mail anymore.Yeah I get the usual stuff, the bank statements, the utility bills, the odd letter from a distant relative, but what is not obvious is that, for most of these letters, real stamps are not used! Just take a minute to reflect on this…stamps are not used on post anymore. Isn’t that the best part of sending a letter? Sticking the small, beautiful graphic image on to the corner of your envelope, this signifying that the letter is ready, it can start it’s journey.

“One of the most beautiful and interesting museums that D.C had to offer.”

On a recent visit to Washington D.C, my husband and I went to the Postal Museum, and we found it to be one of the most beautiful and interesting museums that D.C had to offer. When we arrived home and told everyone this, most people thought we were joking. (FYI – we were not joking, we loved it!)

The postal museum was so interesting, and for me, the beauty and interest lay in these tiny, yet remarkable pieces of art, that have been designed to perform such an important job. The museum was full of stamp collections, showing off the extremely vast and varied collection that D.C alone had collected. The way some of the collections had been displayed were in these huge, heavy screens that you had to pull open to reveal the tiny illustrations. It made me think of being in a really old museum, being allowed to discover the contents of the drawers and pull them open one by one as though I were the first one to find the contents of the drawer.

Part of its charm was the fact that the museum was set in the historic Postal Office in the heart of Washington D.C. This for me, is probably why the museum itself was so memorable. I loved the feelings and emotions the building and museum content provided. That feeling of nostalgia for the past, wanting to go back to a simpler time, a time of letters, walks by the sea, afternoon tea. And this was the type of emotion this particular ‘Wreck This Journal’ by Keri Smith invoked in me when I saw what the task was for completing this particular entry.

Equipment:

  1. Stamps.
  2. Glue / tape.
  3. Scissors.
  4. Time.
  5. Patience.

Time and patience really was needed for this page, if you are wanting to complete this journal quickly then this may be your downfall. I for one, do most of my correspondence via email or text – very little is now communicated by me to my friends through the post, so this was one of the last pages I managed to complete.

Because of this, I felt as though I did not have a plan or strategy for designing or illustrating the page, I could only stick them in as and when the post came in with a stamp. (And oh how exciting those days were when the post came in with a real letter and a real stamp!) As I didn’t know how many stamps I would need, or what they would look like in style or colour, I went with a simple grid pattern, this allowing for any size or style. (And by the way, I did not cheat and buy my stamps, all the stamps in the journal have been post marked – a real achievement!)

Overall, it’s not the most aesthetically pleasing page in my version of the Wreck This Journal, but it is one of my favourites, simply due to the time, patience and energy spent in the creation of the completed page and the satisfaction this brought.

The overarching message is that with patience and perseverance, most achievements will be well-earned, in whatever context they may appear to be in.

Even if its waiting for a letter with a stamp…

I think it took me over a year – patience is a virtue.

Concept.Create.Critique.

 

 

One thought on “Patience is a virtue – the one with all the stamp collecting.

Leave a Reply

